escudo de zacatecas cleaned upDear Zacatecas,

I’ve been putting off writing this letter for a long while now, but I think it’s time we got things out in the open. Whatever comes of this, please know that you’ll always be my most favorite, most special, and my most beautiful silver city. You know that, don’t you?  You really are something special, something amazing, something unique, and I’ll always cherish the times we had together.

Who could forget that first afternoon during Semana Santa we spent together? Wow, one glance at Calle Hidalgo, and you practically knocked me out with your breathtaking beauty. Later, you seduced me with you lovely, sinuous terrain, with hidden vistas, plazas, and voluptuous mystery lying just around the bend. And who could forget the exhilaration of crossing the valley in the Teleferico from Mina El Edén to the Cerro de la Bufa? It gives me chills just to write about it.

Calle Hidalgo at Dusk

Calle Hidalgo at Dusk

Oh, Zacatecas, your architecture! My heart is beating faster now just thinking about it. How could any place compare to your loveliness, all carved out of beautiful, pink cantera? Nowhere else is like you. From the Plaza de Armas with its shows, dances, fireworks, and clowns to the ornate Teatro Fernando Calderón to the breathtaking Calle Hidalgo, to all the lovely, hidden plazas, you are one charmer extraordinaire. And man, you may be over four hundred years old, but don’t listen to any of those doubters. You can still turn plenty of heads. When you got that fabulous uplighting on all your buildings a couple of  years ago, Whoa! I swooned when I saw that, and I fell in love all over again.

Zacatecas Sunset

Zacatecas Sunset

Oh, and the adventures you’ve given me. Really, you have given me *SO* much. I’ll be forever in your debt. You led me to Enrique, a stunning young man in every way. Yeah, a little “loco” thinking he was unattractive, but he graced your cobblestoned streets with his mere presence. And though I haven’t written about them, and probably won’t much here, there were a couple of other handsome fellows you threw into my path that really changed my world. Especially that handsome young, straight, narcotraficante from Ciudad Juarez who had found Jesus and come to live a new, honest life in your tender embrace. How could I forget his spine-tingling tales of dealing drugs, holding up trucks, and shootouts with other gangs? No one else has ever introduced me to a guy like that, really. And you just knew he’d fascinate me. And I’m so glad that you’ve helped him onto the straight and narrow. Please look after him for me. I know he can make it, but a little help from you wouldn’t hurt.

Plaza de Armas, Zacatecas

Plaza de Armas, Zacatecas

And the closeted cowboy. Yeah, that one, the one who really does spend his days on the back of a horse rounding up cattle. Meeting him was *QUITE* an experience, one I’ll never forget either. And he’s a clever devil, really, what with his pretext of having found my wallet in the street. That got me out of the hotel and into his car. I know, I know, against my better judgment, but it was all under control. You were looking out for me, and he really was a wonderful guy with a wonderful heart. Zacatecas can you please look after him too? He really deserves to be more comfortable in his skin and to be happier. I know you can help.

And through all these people, Zac, you really taught me something about you, something about Mexico, and in the end something about myself that I couldn’t have learned in any other way. Really, you don’t know how grateful I am, and will always be. Honestly, I’m being sincere. I hope you believe me.

But you know, maybe we were just never meant to be one of those “forever” couples, you and me. Sometimes the hottest passion just can’t be sustained. I know, I know. You tried your best, really I know. This is my fault, all my fault. You did everything you could. You put that wonderful house into my path. And really, it could hardly have been more perfect, what with its location just off the plaza, garage, colonial style, but modern amenities. Yes, I know, I’m a bit of an ingrate. You gave me multiple chances at it and you even managed to crash the exchange rate. I know…I know… I’m a pig. I admit it. You really did your best. Again, this is 100% my fault; it’s not yours. You’ve been perfect in every way.

But I can’t really help myself either. I know we had our fling and my feelings at the time were so intense, honest, and true. I was smitten beyond the reach of all reason. But surely you must have known deep in your heart that I’d always be a big-city boy. Could it have been any other way? I’m so sorry I led you on.

So I have a confession to make. I’m going to stay right here, with your brother, Mexico City. I’m sorry. Really, it hurts me to write this, and I know it hurts especially badly when it turns out you’re being abandoned for your own brother. But really, it’s not Mexico City’s fault. He really acted honorably in all respects, urged me to go back to you, told me it wasn’t really the proper thing for us to be together like this. So it really is all my fault. I take full responsibility. It was I who decided to fly here on a one-way ticket. And I should have known better. Yeah, Mexico City has always had my eye. And I feel bad that you had to find out this way, and it hurts me to admit that I’ve been unfaithful.

So I guess I should just come out and say it. I’m kind of crying as I say this, but are you sitting down?  I…I, well, I’ve just arranged to rent an apartment here. I’m sorry. I just couldn’t help myself. You know, I have known Mexico City a lot longer than you, and we’ve always clicked. Sure, we had our disagreements, but they’ve always been minor. But he and I just, I don’t know, just kind of fit together. It’s not a totally rational thing.

Look, I know it sounds like a cliché, but you’ll always be special to me. I’ll never forget you. It’s just that sometimes we all have to make tough choices. Honestly, this isn’t easy for me either. I know it hurts now, but I think we’ll all be better off in the long run. I promise I’ll come to see you, and I also promise that I won’t bring Mexico City with me. And I won’t mention him when we’re together. Meanwhile, remember, I’ll always love you, love you, love you, and you’ll always have a special place in my heart. So please, Zacatecas, please forgive me. I know you’re going through a lot of emotions now. But please, when you’re done being mad, please forgive me.

I’ll always love you.

Love,

Kim

