Tags

, , , , ,

Dateline: Where desperate fantasy ends and reality begins

This is a really embarrassing post to write. In fact, I’ve been kind of dragging my heels about it. You see, I’ve long projected an impression of someone cultivated, someone who knows his baroque from his rococo, and someone knowledgeable about art history and its impact on architecture and design. And I’ve long talked about my house here as being Art Deco. In fact, I’ve even referred to it as “The Art Deco Fantasy.”  I’ve spent a lot of time looking for art deco design inspiration. I’ve taken thousands of pictures of Art Deco houses and buildings around La Condesa and Roma Sur. I’ve virtually SOAKED myself in Art Deco design inspiration.

But I’ve been living an Art Deco lie. I’ve been putting up an Art Deco façade that’s entirely false. And I’m kind of ashamed and embarrassed to admit it. I’m sorry.

Yet the truth has set me free. The reality is this: my house isn’t really Art Deco, at least not pure Art Deco. Please, don’t hate me for leading you (and myself) astray. But not only have I been personally deluded, I’ve deluded all of you, my faithful readers. And for that, I beg forgiveness.

Bauhaus Art School, Dessau Germany

The reality is that my house is really more Bauhaus. In all fairness, there’s no bright line between the two. Both took place in the 1920s and 30s, and both reflect ideas of mass production of elegant, machine-inspired, modern things. Still, I should have known better. The house was built in 1938, certainly well after the peak of Art Deco, and when Bauhaus was becoming an international design phenomenon. The design of my house is fairly spare, totally consistent with the Bauhaus thesis. Sure, the massing is kind of Art Deco, and the round windows in the façade could be interpreted as Art Deco. But those round windows are also a key design element in Bauhaus. The real tell? On my house, there’s a near-total absence of diagonal lines, and all of the adornment is very simple. This should have tipped me off, but I was smitten and oblivious.

How did this happen?

The reason is even more cringe than I want to admit. But I was so focused on Art Deco that I had kind of forgotten about Bauhaus. And I was an Art Deco Denizen Wannabe of the worst kind, imagining speakeasies and jazz clubs around every corner. Which is to say that I so desperately wanted to live the whole Art Deco lifestyle that when I discovered this sexy, old building, I just forcibly defined him as Art Deco and then just went home with him, unleashing my fantasies, reality be damned.  We communed, him being his clean, elegant Bauhaus self, while I was swooning in an Art Deco delusion, fantasies of the Chrysler Building, Rockefeller Center, and other Art Deco buildings flooding my imagination as we negotiated plumbing, among other things. It’s embarrassing to admit, but it’s true. I was living a fantasy that had no moorings.

So how did I ever awaken to reality? My dining room window was the first to show me the truth. The window that was there when I bought the house was a basic grid window, though polluted by later (unfortunate) design decisions. Those later decisions included diagonal cross-bars across every perfect rectangle of glass. I had wanted to replace the entire thing, so I had to come up with new designs. Naturally, I kept coming up with Art Deco designs, with extravagant diagonal features, or Asian-inspired rectangular forms. Sadly, none of them looked right in the context of the house. There’s hardly an original diagonal line in the entire house. If you exclude the stairway, there aren’t any at all. It’s a very rectangular house, punctuated by a few circles on the façade. Why wasn’t this Art-Deco thing working???

Dining Room Window, Before

I don’t know what hit me. But I suddenly thought, “Bauhaus,” and then began to look around the web. Sure enough, my “Art Deco” house was suddenly looking a lot (LOT) more like Bauhaus than Art Deco. I could no longer deny it. Heck, the house itself even looks related to the building that housed the Bauhaus itself. (Which was a German art school, active between 1919 and 1933 before it was shut down by the Nazis).

Original and Now-Restored Dining Room Window & Back Door

Living with my house as it was in reality rather than what it was in my fantasies turned out to be the right thing. Suddenly EVERYTHING fell into place and just felt right. Take the dining room window. Once I got rid of all the crossbars, it was a very handsome window in its own right. Simple, composed of repeating rectangles, it has a modern, spare, and ultimately elegant form. The same thing happened with the façade. Though the changes have yet to be implemented, taking a Bauhaus approach has made the design task VASTLY easier. I will remove the cross bars on the garage and the front door. That front door which now has a sort of horizontal quality will now get some vertical divider bars, essentially doubling the number of panes. All of that will unify the design of the façade, and I will now be able to live openly as a Bauhaus inhabitant.

Front Door & Garage Door, Current
New, Bauhaus Design for front Door & Garage Door.

It’s all falling into place design-wise now. While I’ll still love Art Deco, deeply in my heart, I’ll be living in a Bauhaus, and all the happier for living in truth, living in concordance with actual reality.

It is Bauhaus and now it’s my house and my reality too.